treehouse : what would you like to learn today?
Web Design Web Development iOS Development

Anybody seen this theme before?

  • I am pretty sure that this site is using a purchased theme with some tweaks, but I wanted to be sure. Has anyone ever seen it? http://epicplanning.com/
  • why don't you ask the designer? In other words, it appears to be a custom design...
  • Honestly to me it looks like a rip-off of OnWired (http://onwired.com/) though I guess it is possible for them to be using the same template but given the execution of the OnWired's template I would be inclined to say someone ported it over into a WordPress theme, but it's hard to say without asking OnWired if it's their own or if they got it from somewhere. But at least you know it's either a stolen custom design, or it's a theme, and not there own creation... figure out which one of the two possibilities that left and you'll have your answer.
  • /*
    Theme Name: EPIC Planning
    Theme URI: http://wordpress.org/
    Description: Epic Planning default theme
    Author: Aimee Whatley
    Author URI: http://www.aimeewhatley.com/
    Tags: fixed width, multiple boxes, black
    */

  • Wow, definitely using the same theme. Either that or one of them ripped off the other.
  • Both sites were created at the same time. However, since onwired.com isn't a wordpress site. I can't help but think that it came first. Someone took their css and turned it into a theme. Plus, the Epic Planning's css looks a bit sketchy. Onwired looks more from scratch.

    This is fun though. Playing which came first. We should do this more often.
  • I know who is taking credit of the Wordpress work. She has it listed in her CSS section of her site, but I looked through the design of the site. A weird name keeps popping up of Kendra, and it just made me wonder who made the site. The site that you posted is the same thing! I can't believe that they just ripped it off. I thought that I had seen this theme for sale somewhere though. I will still try to find it.
  • Also, how do you know that it is not a wordpress site? Could they have installed wordpress inside of a different folder or something?

  • TOTAL Ripp off. but it loooks great!
  • Should point out that it can still be a purchased theme, no point in making accusations without all of the proper information.
  • I've never seen either of them before, but one of them is showing a copyright section with a date (onwired) and the other isn't. Anyway, for me the design is pretty blah anyway and it's modified from one to the other (Please note I did not check if they copied the coding verbatim or not)